BCCI Chief Selector Asked About Resting Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma Before Bharat Darshan At World Cup. Here’s His Reply | Cricket News

A day after Indian cricket workforce’s Asia Cup triumph, the squad for the Australia ODI collection was introduced on Monday. There had been a number of surprises within the squad for the three-ODI collection. The largest one being the return of Ravichandran Ashwin, who final performed an ODI in January, 2022. Another shock was that the workforce administration rested the star trio – Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Hardik Pandya – for a collection that’s being seen as the ultimate costume rehearsal earlier than the World Cup.

The trio, together with Kuldeep Yadav, has been for the primary two ODIs, whereas they’ll make a comeback within the third ODI. BCCI chief selector Ajit Agarkar, who introduced the squad, was requested by a journalist concerning the cause behind resting the celebrities forward of ‘Bharat Darshan’ on the World Cup. The reference of ‘Bharat Darshan’ was given as a result of India would be the most-travelled workforce within the ODI Cricket World Cup as it will likely be enjoying all it group stage matches in numerous cities.

Agarkar gave a deft reply to the question. “Rohit (Sharma) and Virat (Kohli) have been around forever and obviously Hardik is an important player for us, we want to manage him,” he mentioned.

“Kuldeep is in great form. It also gives us a chance to look at some of the other guys. That’s the thing. Luckily, we got a fair amount of cricket in the Asia Cup.

“If not we would have checked out it another method. At some stage or the opposite, greater than bodily, guys generally want a psychological break which isn’t such a nasty factor, main up the event (Cricket World Cup).

“But comes the third game, everyone will be available to play. We will play our World Cup squad. It does give us a chance to play some other guys who have been sitting outside and it has been a strong squad,” mentioned BCCI Chief selector Ajit Agarkar.

Squad for the primary two ODIs: KL Rahul (captain), Ravindra Jadeja (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Shardul Thakur, Washington Sundar, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna.

Squad for third ODI: Rohit Sharma (captain), Hardik Pandya, (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel (topic to health), Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohammed Siraj.

Topics talked about on this article

Source web site: sports activities.ndtv.com

( No ratings yet )