ODI World Cup 2023: Neesham makes the lower in New Zealand’s squad; Southee, Williamson return

Allrounder Jimmy Neesham, who performed a key function within the thrilling last of the 2019 Cricket World Cup, has been included in New Zealand’s 15-man squad for this 12 months’s match in India.

Neesham was chosen to bat for New Zealand within the Super Over which was required to resolve the winner of the final World Cup last towards England at Lord’s. The groups nonetheless have been tied after the Super Over and England took the world title on a countback of boundaries.

Neesham and quick bowler Trent Boult, who additionally performed in that match, each have been included Monday within the New Zealand squad regardless of not being on checklist of centrally contracted gamers.

READ MORE | IND vs PAK, Asia Cup 2023: Rain douses India’s top-order fireplace, play to renew on reserve day

Kane Williamson will captain the New Zealand staff, although he’s nonetheless recovering from the intense knee damage he sustained in the course of the Indian Premier League in April. It will not be but recognized when Williamson shall be match to play.

Williamson and quick bowler Tim Southee have been chosen for his or her fourth World Cups. Spin bowling allrounder Rachin Ravindra, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips and Will Young shall be enjoying at a 50-overs World Cup for the primary time.

Boult, Matt Henry and vice-captain Tom Latham shall be enjoying at their third World Cups.

“From Kane and Tim heading to their fourth tournament to the guys selected for the first time it’s always a very exciting time,” head coach Gary Stead mentioned. “There have been some tough calls and there will be some disappointed players.

“The key for us was finding the right balance for the squad and making sure we had our bases covered for what is going to be a very competitive tournament.”

New Zealand will play Pakistan in a warm-up match at Hyderabad on Sept. 29 forward of the match begin on Oct. 5.

New Zealand squad

Kane Williamson (capt), Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young

Source web site: sportstar.thehindu.com

( No ratings yet )