Why Cristiano Ronaldo did not vote at FIFA Awards as Lionel Messi accomplished historic 2022 to win finest males’s participant award

Lionel Messi hogged the limelight within the FIFA Awards ceremony in Paris, profitable the Best Men’s Player of The Year award to finish a historic 2022. He led Argentina to FIFA World Cup 2022 glory final yr in Qatar, defeating France within the closing. With Argentina cruising to a straightforward 2-0 win, Kylian Mbappe got here to France’s rescue and staged a comeback. The Frenchman levelled proceedings inside 97 seconds, scoring a penalty within the Eightieth-minute after which making it 2-2 with a shocking volley within the 81st-minute.

In extra-time, Argentina took a 3-2 lead within the 108th-minute with Messi discovering the again of the web. But Mbappe as soon as once more equalised within the 118th-minute to make it 3-3. In the penalty shootout, goalkeeper Emiliano Martinez got here out on high to disclaim Aurelien Tchouameni and Kingsley Coman as Argentina sealed a 4-2 victory. For his performances within the World Cup, Messi was adjudged as one of the best participant, ending the event with seven objectives and three assists in seven fixtures.

Meanwhile, Messi’s arch-rival Cristiano Ronaldo had a poor World Cup, and in addition noticed his Manchester United contract get terminated as a consequence of a controversial interview. Since then, Ronaldo has joined Saudi Pro League membership Al Nassr. The former Real Madrid begin was anticipated to be part of the voting course of within the FIFA Awards, however he didn’t solid any vote within the Best Player ballot. FIFA confirmed that Pepe took on these duties. The defender voted for France and PSG striker Mbappe, adopted by former Real Madrid teammates Luka Modric and Karim Benzema.

Since their World Cup exit, Portugal have a brand new boss within the guise of Roberto Martinez, who managed Belgium final yr. Martinez voted for Messi, after which Kevin de Bruyne and Mbappe. Ronaldo additionally was not named on the record of nominees, failing to make the ultimate shortlist. He gained the primary FIFA Best Men’s Player of the Year awards in 2016 and 2017.

Source web site: www.hindustantimes.com

( No ratings yet )