Harmanpreet, Ismail out with niggles for Mumbai as Warriorz choose to bowl

UP Warriorz selected to bowl vs Mumbai Indians

UP Warriorz received the toss and opted to bowl first of their WPL conflict in opposition to an under-strength Mumbai Indians facet lacking captain Harmanpreet Kaur and tempo bowler Shabnim Ismail in Bengaluru.

Harmanpreet and Ismail had been out with small “niggles”, mentioned Nat Sciver-Brunt, standing as captain for Harmanpreet, of whom she added: “It’s quite early on in the competition and the games come thick and fast so we didn’t want to risk it. She’ll be right for later on.”

Ismail’s absence means a primary begin on this 12 months’s competitors for fellow fast Issy Wong, who loved a wonderful debut season for Mumbai however has misplaced her place within the England facet, enjoying only one T20I final 12 months. Humaira Kazi additionally comes into the Mumbai facet.

The match is a replay of final 12 months’s Eliminator, wherein Mumbai emerged triumphant and went on to carry the inaugural title. They have received each their matches of this marketing campaign, whereas Warriorz are looking for their first victory of 2024 and, taking in final season, they’ve misplaced 4 on the trot. Their first match was a two-run thriller which went the way in which of Royal Challengers Bangalore and Warriorz then suffered a nine-wicket thumping by the hands of Delhi Capitals.

Alyssa Healy, Warriorz captain, mentioned her facet had been eager to show their outcomes round. They have made one change, with seamer Anjali Sarvani coming into the facet instead of left-arm spinner Gouher Sultana.

“We got pretty close in that first game and, on review, we probably should have got ourselves over the line but we were well out-classed the other night, so we’re just up for a better performance tonight,” Healy mentioned on the toss.

“There’s always a bit of extra spice when the Ashes is involved but we’re at the WPL right now and we’re all enjoying playing in this Indian environment so we’ll just have to wait and see,” she added of the Australia-England rivalry between the captains for this match.

UP Warriorz: Alyssa Healy (wk, capt), Vrinda Dinesh, Tahlia McGrath, Grace Harris, Shweta Sehrawat, Kiran Navgire, Poonam Khemnar, Deepti Sharma, Sophie Ecclestone, Anjali Sarvani, Rajeshwari Gayakwad

Mumbai Indians: Hayley Matthews, Yastika Bhatia (wk), Nat Sciver-Brunt (capt), Amelia Kerr, Pooja Vastrakar, Amanjot Kaur, S Sajana, Humaira Kazi, Issy Wong, SB Keerthana, Saika Ishaque

Source web site: www.espncricinfo.com

( No ratings yet )