ICC names all-woman panel of match officers for 2023 Women’s T20 World Cup

The upcoming girls’s T20 World Cup in South Africa can have an all-woman line-up of match officers, in what shall be a landmark first within the recreation.

On Friday, the ICC introduced the panel of three match referees and ten umpires, that includes officers from seven international locations. The match referees are GS Lakshmi (India), Shandre Fritz (South Africa) and Michell Pereira (Sri Lanka). The on-field and TV umpires shall be Sue Redfern (England), Eloise Sheridan (Australia), Claire Polosak (Australia), Jacqueline Williams (West Indies), Kim Cotton (new Zealand), Lauren Agenbag (South Africa), Anna Harris (England), Vrinda Rathi (India), N Janani (India) and Nimali Perera (Sri Lanka).

Harris and Cotton will officiate the match opener between South Africa and Sri Lanka in Cape Town on February 10.

Selecting this panel was a part of the governing physique’s “strategic ambition of advancing the involvement and visibility of women in cricket,” an ICC assertion mentioned.

The panel will even have essentially the most variety of girls umpires and match referees in a world ICC match, 4 greater than the 9 who’re on the ongoing girls’s Under-19 T20 World Cup.

“Women’s cricket has been growing rapidly in recent years and as part of that, we have been building the pathways to ensure more women have the opportunity to officiate at the highest level,” Wasim Khan, ICC’s common supervisor of cricket, mentioned. “This announcement is a reflection of our intent in this space and just the start of our journey where men and women enjoy the same opportunities across our sport.

“We are dedicated to persevering with to help our feminine match officers and supply alternatives to showcase their skills on the worldwide stage. I want all of them the very best for the match.”

The eighth edition of the women’s T20 World Cup begins with hosts South Africa facing Sri Lanka on February 10. Defending champions Australia are in Group A with Bangladesh, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and South Arica. Group B has England, India, Ireland, Pakistan and West Indies. The top two teams from each group will move into the semi-finals.

The matches shall be performed in Cape Town, Gqeberha and Paarl with the ultimate scheduled for February 26 at Newlands.

Source web site: www.espncricinfo.com

( No ratings yet )