Ranji Trophy: Abhimanyu-Gharami stand provides Bengal benefit over Jharkhand

Abhimanyu Easwaran (77, 154b, 10×4) and Sudip Gharami (68, 109b, 11×4) struck well timed half-centuries as Bengal acquired to 238 for 5 to ascertain a 65-run first innings lead over Jharkhand on the second day of the Ranji Trophy quarterfinal match on the Eden Gardens right here on Wednesday.

Beginning its reply to Jharkhand’s 173, Bengal misplaced younger southpaw Kazi Saifi cheaply, however benefitted from a 136-run stand between Abhimanyu and Gharami to safe a helpful lead.

Jharkhand new ball bowlers, Ashish Kumar and Rahul Shukla, gave an excellent account of their abilities within the first session. But Abhimanyu and Gharami utilized themselves within the early testing hours and laid an excellent basis.

Abhimanyu displayed his self-discipline to remain put and relied on his excellent timing to get some boundaries, significantly within the ‘V.’

Gharami, sometimes fiddled with hazard and was dropped on 27, impressed together with his eye-catching strokes everywhere in the floor.

The two ran properly to maintain the scorers busy.

Jharkhand’s seasoned left-arm spinner Shahbaz Nadeem supplied the breakthrough within the post-lunch session. Gharami flashed at a large supply to be caught at first slip.

Three overs later, Abhimanyu skilled a lapse in focus and was caught behind off medium pacer Supriyo Chakraborty.

Even whereas batting throughout the most effective part of the day, Anustup Majumdar and captain Manoj Tiwary consumed 91 deliveries for a 24-run stand. As a end result, Bengal’s run price dipped beneath three runs.

Tiwary was trapped in entrance whereas enjoying throughout a fuller ball from Supriyo, who persistently bowled an excellent line in a protracted spell.

Anustup was bowled by left-arm spinner Anukul Roy, because the ball turned somewhat.

The left-handed pair of Shahbaz Nadeem and Abishek Porel gathered runs at a faster price to type an unbroken 31-run partnership and provides the host hopes for a greater tomorrow.

The scores:

Jharkhand — 1st innings: 173

Bengal — 1st innings: Kazi Saifi lbw b Ashish 1, Abhimanyu Easwaran c Kushagra b Supriyo 77, Sudip Gharami c Virat b Nadeem 68, Anustup Majumdar b Anukul 25, Manoj Tiwary lbw b Supriyo 13, Shahbaz Ahmed (batting) 17, Abishek Porel (batting) 25, Extras (lb-11, w-1) 12, Total (for 5 wickets in 81 overs) 238

Fall of wickets: 1-11, 2-147, 3-159, 4-183, 5-207

Jharkhand bowling: Ashish 22-1-57-1, Rahul 16-5-39-0, Supriyo 21-3-68-2, Nadeem 13-0-48-1, Anukul 9-3-15-1.

Source web site: sportstar.thehindu.com

( No ratings yet )