Rohit to overlook first ODI in opposition to Australia, no vice-captain named for Test squad

Rohit Sharma will miss the primary ODI of the three-match collection in opposition to Australia due to household commitments. In his absence, vice-captain Hardik Pandya will lead the facet in Mumbai on March 17.
There had been no adjustments to the red-ball squad for the final two Tests of the continued Border-Gavaskar Trophy. However, the choice committee, at present with no chairman after Chetan Sharma’s resignation, didn’t title a vice-captain; KL Rahul was Rohit’s deputy for the primary two Tests however there have been issues over his type. In his final 5 Tests, Rahul has 117 runs at a median of 13 and with a better of 23.
Jaydev Unadkat, who was launched forward of the second Test for the Ranji Trophy last, is again within the squad. Earlier within the day, Unadkat led Saurashtra to their second Ranji title in three seasons. There was extra good news for him: he discovered a spot in India’s ODI facet as properly. He will probably be competing with Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik and Shardul Thakur for a slot within the taking part in XI.
Unadkat performed the final of his seven ODIs up to now again in 2013 however he has been on the selectors’ radar for fairly a while now. ESPNcricinfo has discovered that the selectors had been impressed by his efficiency within the Vijay Hazare Trophy not too long ago, the place he was the best wicket-taker with 19 scalps from ten video games, and helped Saurashtra win the title.
Ravindra Jadeja, who made a dream comeback to Test cricket after a five-month layoff following a knee surgical procedure, additionally returned to the ODI fold. Jasprit Bumrah, although, continued to overlook out as he recovers from his again harm.

India have retained the Border-Gavaskar Trophy after taking a 2-0 lead.

India’s Test squad for third and fourth Tests in opposition to Australia: Rohit Sharma (capt), KL Rahul, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat

India’s squad for ODIs in opposition to Australia: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (vice-capt), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umran Malik, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Jaydev Unadkat

Source web site:

( No ratings yet )