Shanto, Wood, Sakib take Sylhet Strikers to BPL ultimate

Sylhet Strikers 182 for 7 (Shanto 40, Mashrafe 28, Mahmud 2-34) beat Rangpur Riders 163 for 8 (Rony 66, Nurul 33, Wood 3-34) by 19 runs

Sylhet Strikers reached their first BPL ultimate after they defeated Rangpur Riders by 19 runs within the second qualifier in Dhaka. They will tackle three-time champions Comilla Victorians – additionally final season’s winners – within the ultimate on February 16.

But it may have simply been Riders enjoying the ultimate. Rony Talukdar and their captain Nurul Hasan added 82 runs for the fourth wicket, and had been taking Riders quickly in the direction of the 183-run goal, however Tanzim Hasan Sakib’s match-turning 18th over modified the sport’s destiny.

Strikers took further time to resolve who would hold wickets when Mushfiqur Rahim returned to the sector, and Nurul appeared frazzled. The Riders captain fell first ball after the delay, later noticed shouting at somebody whereas strolling again. Rony fell later within the over, run out for 66 after being too careless to return to the crease, with Zakir Hasan, the brand new gloveman, getting a direct hit.

Luke Wood, one other late arrival within the BPL, then bowled Strikers to victory with a double-wicket nineteenth over, giving freely simply three runs. The left-arm Wood had Mahedi Hasan caught behind and Dwayne Bravo caught within the deep subsequent ball. Dasun Shanaka struck Rubel Hossain for 2 fours within the final over, but it surely was a bit too late as Rubel closed out the sport with the Sri Lanka captain’s wicket within the final ball.

Riders had misplaced Sam Billings within the second over of the chase when Sakib trapped the opener lbw. Billings felt he had come too far down the pitch for it to be the best determination, however replays confirmed that the umpires acquired it appropriate. Shamim Hossain, who was participant of the match for Riders within the eliminator towards Fortune Barishal, then hit some boundaries off Rubel within the fifth over.

But Strikers took the higher hand when Wood eliminated Nicholas Pooran within the ninth over. Pooran struck him for ten runs off the earlier two balls, earlier than holing out within the deep leg-side boundary. He made 30 off 14 balls, with 4 sixes and a 4. After that Rony’s innings gave Riders hope, but it surely wasn’t to be ultimately with Strikers holding on to their benefit.

Earlier, the Strikers openers Towhid Hridoy and Najmul Hossain Shanto gave them a rock-solid begin with a 65-run opening stand. Shanto dominated the stand with a 30-ball 40 that had 5 fours and a six, however he wasn’t pleased with the lbw determination that Riders took through the DRS, which changed the ADRS from the league stage.

Hridoy struck a six and two fours in his 25 whereas Strikers captain Mashrafe Mortaza, selling himself for the second recreation in a row, smashed three fours and a six in his 28 off 16 balls. However, Zakir Hasan, Ryan Burl and Mushfiqur couldn’t push on, leaving Thisara Perera and George Linde to offer them Strikers a ultimate thrust within the slog overs that took them to 182.

Source web site:

( No ratings yet )