Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Suyash Sharma stars in Delhi’s 124-run win over TN; Mumbai, Bengal too acquire factors

Suyash Sharma led a medical bowling show with a four-wicket haul after Priyansh Arya struck a quickfire 81 off 47 balls as Delhi handed Tamil Nadu a crushing 124-run defeat in a Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy match right here on Monday.

Tamil Nadu captain Washington Sundar’s choice to ask Delhi to bat first backfired large time as Arya went hammer and tongs on the high of the order, hitting 4 boundaries and 7 sixes, to assist his facet put up 191 for 3.

He was ably supported by Ayush Badoni (41 not out off 21 balls) and Himmat Singh (21 not out off 15 balls) down the order. The Badoni-Singh pair shared 63 runs for the unconquered fourth wicket from 5.5 overs.

The Delhi bowlers then ran by way of the TN batting line-up with Sharma scalping 4 wickets for simply 5 runs from his allotted quota of 4 overs.

Lalit Yadav and Hrithik Shokeen chipped in with two wickets apiece as TN was bowled out for simply 67 in 13 overs.

Only two TN batters — Hari Nishaanth (19) and M Shahrukh Khan (17) — might attain double-digit scores. Captain Washington Sundar made simply three runs.

Also learn | Bishan Singh Bedi, the ‘God’s man’ who graced the gentleman’s sport

Yashasvi Jaiswal stars in Mumbai’s win

In Jaipur, Mumbai beat Chhattisgarh by seven wickets with Yashasvi Jaiswal anchoring the run chase with a 35-ball 51, which was studded with 5 fours and three sixes.

Jaiswal was the final batter out as Mumbai chased down the goal of 144 with 29 balls to spare.

Shivam Dube (40 not out off 24 balls) and Sarfaraz Khan (20 not out off 12 balls) simply accomplished the formalities after Jaiswal’s departure within the twelfth over.

Earlier, Mumbai pacer Tushar Deshpande (3/34) performed the primary function in limiting Chhattisgarh to 143 for 7, which was constructed round captain Amandeep Khare’s half century (57 off 42 balls).

Bengal too good for Uttarakhand

In Mohali, Bengal batters fired in unison to chase down 162 for an eight-wicket win over Uttarakhand with 16 balls to spare.

Openers Abhimanyu Easwaran and Abishek Porel made 48 and 57 respectively whereas Habib Gandhi and captain Sudip Kumar Gharami remained not out on 25 and 24 respectively.

Earlier, Ishan Porel (2/35) and Shahbaz Ahmed (2/23) led the Bengal bowling assault to limit Uttarakhand to 161 for 7 in 20 overs.

Source web site:

( No ratings yet )